What to do when it’s -40 C outside – Staycation!

Well I am so thankful to be able to enjoy Family Day Weekend – I love having one extra day off to laze around and chill with my family. I am NOT thankful for the fact that when we woke up this morning it was -43 degrees celcius. What the heck are we supposed to do with that??! The weather network pretty much warns against going outside for ANY reason, I’ve heard the term “instant frostbite” a bit too often these past few days. The annual polar bear swim in our community was actually CANCELLED – I’m pretty sure for the first time since I’ve been alive.

Well, luckily my sister and her fiancée decided to do a bit of a staycation this weekend and rented a room at a local hotel with a pool – score! So we crashed their romantic valentines evening and went for a swim last night and we plan on doing the same tonight. This got me thinking – with sites like Priceline that offer great deals on hotels – it’s totally worth it to do a last minute staycation. Right now we could get one of the top hotels where we are (that has a pool) for $60. Totally worth it to go relax at a hotel. And as I have learned kids LOVE hotels. There doesn’t even need to be a pool.

I’m not sure why I haven’t thought of this before – but I think it’s a brilliant idea and I’m sure others have already thought of it.

So next time you have the winter blues – go to Priceline (or other sites) and see if you can snag a great deal and have someone else make the beds for a day!!

Keep Warm!!

Leave a Reply

