Photography: Zeiss 50 mm/1.4 – What a nice piece of glASS!

I have a new love. It’s taken a bit of time for us to meet. I’ve had to wait for rebates from B&H and work a little bit more to make it feasible, but at long last we are together.

Zeiss 50/1.4 Canon mount
Zeiss 50/1.4 Canon mount

So say hello to my new Zeiss 50/1.4 ZE. I feel immense guilt taking a photo of it with an iPhone, but oh well.

If you’ve read my other photography posts you’ll know recently I traded in my body, all my lenses (except my 16-35 L) to get a Canon Mark iii. I love my 16-35 but I love nice crisp portraiture shots of my daughter WITHOUT barrel distortion even more. So I have been waiting to get my hands a nice 50 mm. I did not want to spend the money on the Canon L 50 mm.

The manual focus so far has not been a big issue. I’ll update this as I use the lens in more situations. I surprised myself that it hasn’t been too bothersome especially right at the beginning. I haven’t bought any type of filter for this lens, I have a B+W on my 16-35. The colours on the Zeiss are just too gorgeous to risk taking away any of the quality with a filter.

I have the feeling we are going to be the best of friends.

Leave a Reply

